Professional Networks (364mc)

There are a number of professional networks out there that can aid any media practitioner looking to connect or collaborate with others. One of the first wider ports of call is LinkedIn that is basically a social media site tailored more towards work connections and employment. I know of many people who have found work opportunities through this site based on the recommendations from certain circles of people they have connected with. I like the focus on work, employment and education. The profile is straight to the point and helps to show your experience well if edited the right way.

I have recently setup a LinkedIn account as a Film Editor & Videographer. I am going to link some of my work, the only drawback is that I haven’t exactly been employed for lengthy amounts of time with any production companies as of yet. This is quite a big focus on the profile page so would look to populate this as I continue in my career.

Here is a screenshot of how the profile looks to begin with:

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 19.20.07.jpg

There are also a number of sites that advertise work and job opportunities specifically. One that I found very helpful was ProductionBase. This is specific to media jobs and focuses on identifying roles and criteria to offer the most suited jobs. The only drawback to getting the most out of this service is that you have to become a member and therefore, spend money. At the end of the day, you quite often have to spend money to make money and with the graduate option, it’s only £6.99 a month which I don’t think is bad at all. I have already found a lot of offers that are mostly London based but some within the midlands and Birmingham. I’m waiting to hear back from a few, especially Films at 59 that I’m especially excited for. I will be following the email up with a phone call if I don’t hear back soon.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 15.13.07.jpg

An unlikely network that I didn’t originally think would be as beneficial is FilmFreeway. This service allows you to submit work to festivals all around the world. The features are excellent, collating paperwork, stills, trailer, credits etc… able to then submit all of this content to film festivals without any of the hassle. There are literally hundreds and hundreds of festivals that range from feature/short to documentaries to more specific genre and themed festivals. I had success just last year with my short film ‘The Passage’ that got accepted into the ‘Audience Awards Horror Shorts Online Festival’ through FilmFreeway and is now playing at AudFest as we speak April 6-9th. I got to speak with organisers of the festival as well as other filmmakers on the Audience Awards site. There were options to vote for the best film and we came 2nd out of 48 films so through this process we got to view a lot of films.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 15.19.34

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 15.19.48

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 15.25.07

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 15.25.19

I will definitely be using FilmFreeway for my FMP and other projects as it is so useful at collating content that can be instantly sent out to quality festivals throughout the world. In closing, here is the short film that started all of this off after getting recommended to FilmFreeway.

The Passage, 2nd Most Voted Film in the Audience Awards Horror Shorts 2016:

Bibliography:

 

Leave a Reply

