What it takes to be an Edit Assistant & Beyond (364mc)

As mentioned in a previous post, I touched on some of the roles that I am looking to go into in my hopes at becoming an established Editor. Primarily I will be looking at Edit Assistant positions, but I will first just mention a little on Junior Editors and what they exactly do.

Study.com has it that “Junior video editors play a crucial role in the post-production process of films and videos by digitizing and organizing raw footage into polished pieces suitable for public audiences”. I have spent time observing this process and it can be quite difficult in Avid, the software I have the least experience in. I would definitely need to get training in this area and potentially in FinalCut Pro. A lot of the applications states proficiency in all 3 softwares. Naturally I am looking for more Premiere focused roles but if I wish to continue and expand my reach I will need to attend some training courses. I have been having a watch of some video tutorials via Lynda.com but without access to the software it isn’t ideal but at least I have more of an idea of the interface.

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 11.43.02.jpg

I have spent time looking for physical classes, most down in London but the prices are out of my bracket right now. Recommended to ‘Soho Editors’ as they provide cover on all major software, a two day course on Avid would cost £381.50. This may change depending on situation and I would look for Graduate discounts but this is realistically the cost. Sometimes training is provided by the production company but this is rare. I spoke to Steven Ringrose once again about courses and he recommended the adobe accreditation. Currently I am already certified on Premiere Pro & Photoshop so feeling positive about that.

Here is a screenshot of the advice he gave:

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 11.54.05.jpg

Focusing more on an Edit Assistant now, this is a role that I feel could really help me break into the industry and learn more about post-production than I could anywhere else. It is less about processing the footage and more about preparing the edit suite and managing the media. Organisation here is key, you are the editor’s assistant and help he/she to complete the process, spotting any mistakes along the way and offering input where needed. creativeskillset has it that “Edit Assistants provide basic technical and practical support for Editors, Telecine Operators, Colourists and other senior staff. This allows senior staff to concentrate on the creative aspects of Post Production… Edit Assistants may carry out some simple cutting and editing work. They manage all media” There are a number of skills that are required for an Edit Assistant to be successful and even selected for the role. As mentioned, impeccable organisational skills, willingness to work beyond the call of duty, able to work as part of a team unit and mentally keep track of all personnel. “You have to know how to handle stress, high stakes and mistakes. Trust and honesty are essential. There is the possibility of taking jobs with odd hours, travelling far from home and learning networking protocols” (Coleman & Friedberg, 2014, p. 3) The job can change depending on the project, possibly the individual processes may remain the same but the outcome will be different. It’s a job where you have to adapt to that project and the outcomes of the client.

I am still applying to Edit Assistant positions that are relevant to my current situation. Luckily with the accreditation I have for Premiere Pro, this may help me and make up for the lacking experience in Avid & FinalCut.

Bibliography:

  • COLEMAN, L. & FRIEDBERG, D. (2014) Make the Cut: A Guide to Becoming a Successful Assistant Editor in Film and TV. CRC Press.
  • CREATIVESKILLSET (2017) Edit Assistant. [Online] Available from: http://creativeskillset.org/job_roles/3817_edit_assistant [Accessed: 02/04/17]
  • PIXEL, M. (2016) Editing Video Editing Adobe Computer Video Digital. [Online Images] Available from: http://maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com/Editing-Video-Editing-Adobe-Computer-Video-Digital-1141505. [Accessed: 02/04/17]
  • Screenshots from Lynda.com (https://www.lynda.com/Avid-training-tutorials)
  • SOHO EDITORS. (2017) Avid Courses. [Online] Available from: https://sohoeditors.com/training/avid [Accessed: 02/04/17]
  • STUDY.COM (2017) Junior Video Editor: Job Description, Duties and Salary. [Online] Available from: http://study.com/articles/Junior_Video_Editor_Job_Description_Duties_and_Salary.html [Accessed: 02/04/17]

Leave a Reply

